Project: Texas Big Hair Chocolate Hazelnut Meringue Tarts

This week’s challenge is Project: Texas Big Hair Chocolate Hazelnut Meringue Tarts, chosen by Joelen.

Any questions or tips? Leave them here.

4 Comments to “Project: Texas Big Hair Chocolate Hazelnut Meringue Tarts”

  1. I made mine today, and did mocha-almond instead of hazelnut – almonds and kahula n the crust, almond extract, coffee, and kahula in the ganache. It was really fun shaping the meringue! Though it was weird to eat because it totally looked like a s’mores tart but tasted like mocha!

  2. Oh, wow! That sounds really good!

    I made mine tonight: I used peanuts + 2 Tbsp peanut butter (minus 1 Tbsp butter) in the crust. I made one 9.5 inch tart (full crust recipe, 3/4 of the ganache recipe). The crust shrank (shrunk? shrinked? ha!) off the pan a tad… probably because I didn’t let the dough chill completely. I went minimalist on the meringue, not *all* us Texans are big hairs 🙂

  3. So I must say I am impressed with everyone’s creativity with changing around the ingredients. This was my first ever try at a tart so I was sticking to the book. It all went well until I got to the meringue. Tried it twice and could never get it to stiffen. Not sure what I did wrong but after I ran out of eggs and patience I gave up. I had room temp eggs, clean bowl, no yolk in the whites. Do you have to use a stand mixer? Maybe my little hand mixer is just not up to speed. Oh, well I will try it again later. My toddler loved it even with no top. She smiled at me with chocolate smeared all over her mouth told me I made a good birthday cake! She can all ways make me laugh. It was fun to try something new and looking forward to trying more.

Leave a Reply

