Project: Rocket Rolls

Amanda’s selection for this week’s Project Pastry Queen challenge are Rocket Rolls.  If you have any questions, tips, advice, etc., leave it in the comments here.

And come back on Sunday and leave the link to your blog post to show us your take on the dish!

7 Comments to “Project: Rocket Rolls”

  1. Wow. This might be the softest bread I’ve ever made. I made half the recipe for 8 sandwich rolls. They’re Sunbeam soft. I’m probably going to make these as dinner rolls for Christmas, my family is going to go nuts.

    • A couple of things… I weigh my flour (I used bread flour) and had to add another 1/4 cup or so to make the dough form a ball (in the recipe, it seems like the dough might be too dry because she suggests adding water). I did an egg wash since I had half a whisked egg leftover and let them rise longer than I was supposed to after forming (closer to 30-35 minutes… naptime ended early, without warning).

  2. These rolls are so great! I almost half-ed the recipe, but I sure am glad that I didn’t! Here’s mine

    http://bakerbynight.wordpress.com/2010/12/20/324

  3. I hope this isn’t too stupid a question (I’m still a bit of a recipe blog newbie), but can anyone submit a recipe to this challenge, or is it just for project members? TIA!

  4. I’m a little late to the table, so to speak. Made my rolls only yesterday (12/24). Still enjoying them as breakfast, with a little jam. Here’s my take: http://ohyoucook.blogspot.com/2010/12/rocket-rolls-my-way.html

  5. LOVED these rolls so much that we ate them before I could photograph them…not that I need an excuse to make them again just for the photo!

Leave a Reply

