Project: Peach Queen Cake with Dulce de Leche Frosting

Shawnda’s selection for this week’s Project Pastry Queen challenge is Peach Queen Cake with Dulce de Leche Frosting. If you have any questions, tips, advice, etc., leave it in the comments here.

And come back on Sunday and leave the link to your blog post to show us your take on the dish!

7 Comments to “Project: Peach Queen Cake with Dulce de Leche Frosting”

  1. I’ve got the cakes in the oven and am making the dulce de leche right now. The pot has been simmering for an hour and DDL is not even close to being done. Shawnda suggests 3hrs on the stove (in her recent Homemade DDL post) so I’m going to let it simmer for a while longer and see how it goes…

    • I saw that when I was skimming the recipe this morning (I already have 3 cans in the fridge so I didn’t need to make any new ones). There’s no way that’s correct. I’ve opened a can after 2 hours and was disappointed in how lightly colored/flavored it was. I think 3 hours makes really, really awesome DDL – it’s dark, thick, and the flavor is great.

  2. The recipe is here: http://www.jasonandshawnda.com/foodiebride/?p=7623

    Hope you guys enjoyed it as much as we all did!

  3. I’m super bummed I missed this recipe – definitely a Wildcard Card recipe. Do you guys think this can be converted to cupcakes?

  4. I had to pass on this one as my family is all out of town and I didn’t think I should eat a 3 tier cake all by myself 😉

Leave a Reply

