Project: Petite Pavlovas with Lemon Cream and Fresh Fruit

Emily’s choice for this week’s challenge is: Petite Pavlovas with Lemon Cream and Fresh Fruit. If you have any questions, tips, advice, etc., leave it in the comments here.

And come back on Sunday and leave the link to your blog post to show us your take on the dish!
And welcome to new member Jen of Sweet Morris!

5 Comments to “Project: Petite Pavlovas with Lemon Cream and Fresh Fruit”

  1. I was so excited about this week’s recipe. I LOVE meringues. The meringues didn’t work out as expected (oven), then I cooked the eggs in the lemon curd. It wasn’t meant to be. Oops!

    Anyway, I adjusted and came up with this. I can’t wait to see how everyone else’s came out.

    http://ruflove.wordpress.com/2012/01/22/lemon-berries-with-lemon-whipped-cream/

  2. Whew, apologies for the lateness–I was in a mountain cabin all weekend and then went straight to a conference for my company. I loved this elegant little dessert! I had a TERRIBLE time with meringue for the divinity project and was scared to death to try this (which begs the question…why did I pick this recipe?) but it worked beautifully and I can’t wait to make these again for company!

    http://agiltnutmeg.com/2012/01/23/petite-pavlovas-with-lemon-cream-and-fresh-fruit/

  3. Sorry I am a little behind on my posting about this wonderful dessert. I was very surprised. I am normally not a meringue girl but these are sweet. My youngest daughter keeps bringing the left over meringue for snack. http://sweet-morris.blogspot.com/2012/01/ppq-petite-pavlovas.html.

  4. Jen’s post made me curious– my pavlovas were definitely crispy and airy all the way through, whereas Jen (and wikipedia) says that pavlovas should be soft and marshmallowy in the middle. I wonder if it had to do with the elevation I was at…

    I don’t THINK I overbaked them because they definitely didn’t over brown–there was only the slightest tinge of browning.

    Any thoughts or ideas, anyone?

    • My guess would be the weather. The day I made the pavlovas it was very cold here (nothing new for Maine) but low humidity. I also had to buy a new container of cream of tartar. I am unsure if either one would have made the difference. I know it wasn’t because you over baked them since I had made a smaller one to use the rest of the meringue and it was still soft inside but with a slightly burnt tasting shell.

      I think your meringue look a lot better than mine since my pavlovas had cracks.

Leave a comment