Project: Oatmeal Crisps

Missy’s  selection for this week’s challenge is Oatmeal Crisps. If you have any questions, tips, advice, etc., leave it in the comments here.

And come back on Sunday and leave the link to your blog post to show us your take on the dish!

6 Comments to “Project: Oatmeal Crisps”

  1. I made these along side the peanut butter cupcakes last weekend for office birthday treats and I have to admit that I loved them so much more than the cupcakes!

    My most important tip: I didn’t have any corn syrup on hand, so I used honey instead and it made a very noticeable difference–the crisps smelled and tasted clearly of honey and I think it really rounded out the flavors very nicely. They have such a clean sweet honey-oaty flavor that I won’t even bother with the chocolate next time.

    They’re very crumbly, so I’m already having thoughts of making a batch and just pulverizing the whole thing as toppings for yogurt and such 🙂

  2. Mine were very crumbly, and I think the chocolate on top is the only thing holding them together. They all broke as I was cutting them and I only got one whole one to photograph. They are tasty though. I’m interested to hear how everyone else’s turned out. I love nearly anything with oats and brown sugar, but not sure if I’d make these again due to the breakage.

  3. Like I said, I loved these! I definitely suggest going with honey instead of corn syrup.

    http://agiltnutmeg.com/2012/04/23/oatmeal-crisps/

    Missy, I actually dropped the whole batch on the counter and while they certainly messy, the bars stayed intact for the most part. When I cut them, I did it right at the 20 minute mark and they were still a little soft, so maybe that’s key? Cutting them before they set too hard?

  4. I just returned from vacation. I made these to take with us. These are really good. http://sweet-morris.blogspot.com/2012/04/oatmeal-crisps.html

  5. Life’s been a bit nuts. I’m still cooking just not blogging too much. I made these last weekend and fell in love with them. Did anyone experiment with reducing the butter or sugar? It’s so much!

    Hi! I’m still here.

Leave a comment