Project: King Ranch Casserole

Jody‘s recipe for this week’s Project Pastry Queen challenge is King Ranch Casserole. If you have any questions, tips, advice, etc., leave it in the comments here.

And come back on Sunday and leave the link to your blog post to show us your take on the dish!

11 Responses to “Project: King Ranch Casserole”

  1. Not my favorite recipe from our dear Pastry Queen, but that’s just because I don’t like corn tortillas, so I was biased. But it’s a good one to keep on hand for when Texas relatives come to visit!

    King Ranch Casserole

  2. Hey Emily I roast poblanos all the time just line a cookie sheet with foil, I leave them whole rub them with canola oil put under the broiler on low an just turn every now and then till black and bubbly then pop into a Tupperware with the lid sealed to sweat, then peel and deseed ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’m so impatient! Cutting them so they lay flat gets rid of the whole turning process so I can focus on other stuff while they’re in the oven ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I have to say I agree with Emily on this one. Cutting them in half means less thought later, plus then you’re not opening the oven door all the time and raising the temperature in your kitchen by a bajillion degrees. Though the tupperware is a nice touch, since I don’t always have a paper bag around. Although I have been known to just try and peel off the skin with some tongs and burnt fingers.

  4. I have published the recipe on my blog it is really wonderful we make it all the time, I will update the blog with a photo tomorrow http://www.savorytosweet.com/project-pastry-queen-king-ranch-casserole/.

  5. I played along this week and made the recipe. Here is the link to my blog post.
    http://homekeepingtheadventure.wordpress.com/2011/09/13/project-pastry-queen-king-ranch-casserole/
    Thanks for letting me join!

  6. I loved this! My daughter is getting married next May and her fiancee is from Poland. I will be making this for his family when they come to Texas for the wedding!! I’m new at photographing food, I didn’t like the way it was so runny right out of the oven, so I took pictures of the heated up leftovers the next day.

    http://www.thishomeplate.com/2011/09/king-ranch-casserole-project-pastry.html

  7. I’m back! I’m loving the leftovers–much more so than eating it the night it was made. The flavors must’ve just needed some time to meld in the fridge overnight. I also can’t wait to add some salad and black beans to the plate like Alice did. It looks so delicious!

  8. Hey y’all I’ve found if you don’t want to make your own stock you can buy a good quality canned one and buy a two pound package of chicken thighs, cook the thighs cover on the stove top over medium heat for about 30 to 40 minutes, chill and shread.

Trackbacks

Leave a comment