Project: Tuxedo Cake

Shawnda’s recipe for this week’s Project Pastry Queen challenge is Tuxedo Cake. If you have any questions, tips, advice, etc., leave it in the comments here.

And come back on Sunday and leave the link to your blog post to show us your take on the dish!

8 Comments to “Project: Tuxedo Cake”

  1. I’ve made this cake before. People go nuts over it – the black & white contrast is beautiful. And really tall! You can half it and get 3-4 layers for 6-inch pans. Hunt down Lyle’s golden syrup if you can find it. You might try looking near the honey and syrup, on the International food aisle if you have a larger grocery store (it’s with the British foods in my store), or on the baking aisle near the corn syrup. If you can’t find it, this site has a suggested substitute (though I’ve never tried it): http://www.foodsubs.com/Syrups.html

  2. I love this cake! I tried something a little different since I’ve made the original before – Tuxedo CRUNCH Cake.

    http://iheartyummy.blogspot.com/2011/10/tuxedo-crunch-cake.html

  3. Will taste it tomorrow when we cut into it at the office for October birthdays, but I can’t wait! Surprisingly easy to put together considering the stunning presentation it makes!

    Tuxedo Cake

    • It was a hit at the office! I can’t believe I made the cakes on Saturday night and just let them sit out in the open with no wrapping until Sunday night, when I assembled and frosted the cake, and they were STILL so moist when we cut into the cake Monday afternoon! The whipped cream frosting was, of course, super light, which is a great contrast to three layers of chocolate cake.

  4. Well, mine was a bit of a bust. I baked the cakes and had to cook them about 20 min more than they called for. Even thought the middles were still a bit runny, I ended up taking them out because the edges were burning. Once I started assembling the cake, each layer was too heavy to support the next. The sides ended up crumbling into a mess. I’ve never had this happen before so I’m not sure what went wrong.

    I ended up making this into a trifle but because i’d already started to assemble it, it looked a hot mess (delicious, hot mess!) and so no pictures. It was split into two. One with the ingredients as called for in the recipe and one with cherry pie filling. Mmmmm!

    Not sure where I went wrong but it was tasty and I would definitely try this again!

  5. I made cupcakes! They were super yummy, though definitely not as pretty as the tall layer cake. Here is the link to my post: http://homekeepingtheadventure.wordpress.com/2011/10/04/project-pastry-queen-tuxedo-cupcakes/
    Maybe in the future if I feel brave I’ll try the full cake 🙂

  6. Even though I made the cake 10 days ago, I’m finally getting around to writing about it. I figured I needed to get it done before my post about the delicious butternut squash soup. 🙂 I LOVED THIS CAKE! It turned out great, and I can’t wait for family to come for a visit so I can make it again. Here is the link to my post:
    http://www.thishomeplate.com/2011/10/tuxedo-cake-project-pastry-queen.html

Leave a comment