Project: Mexican Chocolate Fudge-Pecan Cake

Jen’s  selection for this week’s challenge is Mexican Chocolate Fudge-Pecan Cake. If you have any questions, tips, advice, etc., leave it in the comments here.

And come back on Sunday and leave the link to your blog post to show us your take on the dish!

6 Comments to “Project: Mexican Chocolate Fudge-Pecan Cake”

  1. Just a tip, if you have no need for a gigantic chocolate bundt cake sitting around calling your name all week: 1/2 a recipe will also fit into 2 standard 6×2-inch pans (it filled my 6×3 pan perfectly all the way to the top after baking). It’s very similar in taste to Martha Stewart’s Devil’s Food Cake, which is my favorite chocolate cake ever.

  2. I had a cake disaster and my cake is in a bowl now. It’s really, really good. I skipped the glaze because I had a bowl of leftover buttercream in the freezer – I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla bean paste and a rounded 1/4 tsp of ground cinnamon and frosted the cake with that. It’s pretty fab.

  3. I think Jen is trying to kill us…this cake is crazy! (Both disaster-wise and taste-wise)

    I didn’t have a cake disaster, but I did have a glaze disaster and I’m not sure if I overheated it or if water got in it (does water have an effect on cocoa powder?) but it seized something terrible and I had to start over. My new $10 canister of special Dutch processed Guittard red cocoa is now 3/4 gone!

  4. You found out my secret…………. I agree this cake is crazy. It is really rich. The cake is very similar to MS Devil’s Food Cake. The glaze puts the cake over the top. I will have a sugar rush all day.

    I am still trying to take a good photo of it. I will have my posting up tomorrow. http://www.sweet-morris.blogspot.com/.

Leave a comment