Project: Totally Rummy Pound Cake

Shawnda’s  selection for this week’s challenge is Totally Rummy Pound Cake. If you have any questions, tips, advice, etc., leave it in the comments here.

And come back on Sunday and leave the link to your blog post to show us your take on the dish!

7 Comments to “Project: Totally Rummy Pound Cake”

  1. The recipe is here: http://www.jasonandshawnda.com/foodiebride/?p=10887

    I hope someone liked it more than we did.

  2. I made it for our Oscar party and it was a huge hit. But, I didn’t have rum so used pineapple juice instead. I followed the recipe exactly from the cookbook, except substituted pineapple juice and almond extract for the rum, and poured the topping over while the cake was in the pan so it would soak up more of the liquid. I would definitely make it again. It was delicious. http://creativemissy.com/?p=354

    • Pineapple juice and almond extract sound like a great substitute! I’ll have to try it. In the meantime, though, I think I’m sticking with my Grandmother’s Southern Pound Cake recipe 🙂

  3. Yours didn’t rise very much?? Mine rose way too much!! I’ve never had a cake rise so high in my bundt pan, so I had to cut quite a lot off the bottom so it would sit flat. Also, I don’t know if it’s my pan, but normally Rebecca’s bake times are right on the money for my oven so I was surprised that mine came out so very dark. The top seemed fine, but the inside definitely smelled just a tad overdone when I took it out of the pan.

    Oh well! I’m not a big rum fan either, but the boyfriend liked it, so I guess I’ll stick the recipe in the back of my box and save it for a time when I need it.

    http://agiltnutmeg.com/2012/02/27/rum-pecan-pound-cake/

    • You know, I sneaked a bite of it this morning and will concede that it’s *MUCH* better today. I love the pineapple juice idea. I’m going to put this one on the “redo” list and take it to the next family dinner with much less rum. Because something was clearly off then – I got zero lift when it baked.

  4. I made a delicious rum cake last week with walnuts in it. I can’t believe how good it was. It was definitely boozy, but the good kind of boozy that was balanced by sugar and deliciousness. Definitely a hit!

    http://thursdaynightbaking.com/2012/02/rum-cake-emphasis-on-the-rum/

  5. I did a twist since I had a houseful of kids for my son’s birthday. I substituted blueberries and lemons instead of rum. My husband ate the majority of the pound cake since he didn’t want to share. It did come out very good. I will try the pineapple juice idea since I love pineapple. I love everyone’s photos. Here is my link: http://sweet-morris.blogspot.com/2012/02/pq-pound-cake-rum-or-no-rum.html

Leave a comment