Project: Southern Comfort Apple Pie

Sarah’s selection for this week’s Project Pastry Queen challenge is Southern Comfort Apple Pie. If you have any questions, tips, advice, etc., leave it in the comments here.

And come back on Sunday and leave the link to your blog post to show us your take on the dish!

10 Comments to “Project: Southern Comfort Apple Pie”

  1. I made it this weekend and it was AMAZING. I think it needs more apples though. I used 5 medium-sized ones and it didn’t fill up my deep dish plate.

  2. I also made it this weekend, Amanda! I agree, it was incredible. I did 6 apples and I feel like I still could have had a little more.

  3. ha ha, I guess we were all chomping at the bit to make this one–I did it LAST weekend! I think I used 6 large-ish apples and they filled my deep-dish plate. It was definitely the winner last week! In the future, I think I’d like to put a top crust on it instead of a crumble and then maybe I won’t lose so much of the filling that bubbled over this time…

  4. I’m going to be so late posting this one. We are in the middle of moving so stuff is in boxes. I am hoping make the pie over the next week and I’ll get the post up as soon as I can

  5. I feel like I’ve said this before, but this is probably my favorite PPQ recipe yet! Seriously, never using any other apple pie recipe ever again!

    http://agiltnutmeg.com/2011/10/31/southern-comfort-apple-pie/

    I skipped toasting the pecans first because I make pecan pie all the time and find that the pecans toast fine on their own during the normal baking time and don’t need a “pre-toast”.

  6. I opted not to make this recipe this week due to some time constraints but it looks like it was a BIG mistake. I’ll certainly be making this soon. You all make it sound sooo delicious!

  7. Made it. Loved it. http://www.jasonandshawnda.com/foodiebride/archives/9071

    I used 6 apples that weighed 9-10oz each before peeling and coring. It filled my deep dish pan perfectly.

  8. http://iheartyummy.blogspot.com/2011/10/southern-comfort-apple-tarts.html

    Made mini tarts but it sounds like the larger pie version is the way to go!

  9. Wow not sure where mine went wrong but it was like pie soup it looked perfect till we cut it then yuk really runny:-/

Leave a comment